After a test, a step that has a mismatch has a status of Unresolved. The step becomes resolved after you accept or reject that step. The result status of the test depends on the result status of all the steps in the test and remains unresolved until all unresolved steps are accepted or rejected. After all the steps have been resolved, the final Test result is Passed or Failed. The test result status is Passed if all steps are matched or were accepted and it is Failed if any step has failed or was rejected.
This topic, and it's related topics, deal with the process of resolving steps.
When a test completes, each step is classified with a status that can be one of Match, Mismatch, New, or Missing. The status of the step is displayed as part of the step thumbnail and in the step and test editors. Steps with the status of Mismatch, Missing, or New must be resolved, meaning they must be accepted or rejected by using buttons or using the keyboard as will be described in the detailed descriptions. Steps with the status of Match are by definition resolved and do need to be accepted unless the result is not what you expected in which case you can reject it. Unexpected results can occur either because of a bug, or because of a new or changed features. You can accept the step, indicating that the checkpoint image should become the baseline image, or you can reject it indicating that the current baseline image should be retained.
When you accept or reject steps, your choice is persisted immediately. After accepting one or more steps, at some point, you must explicitly save the changes to the baseline so that the baseline images are updated with the accepted checkpoint images and are used as a reference in future test runs. Rejecting steps does not require any further action as Eyes retains the existing baseline image.
- You can resolve differences one step at a time using the:
- You can resolve differences for multiple steps using the:
- Batch details view and Batch step view, test results filtering, selection, and selection menu accept and reject buttons.
- Use Automatic maintenance to automatically accept or reject similar differences.